Celebrating Excellence: Life Sciences Queensland GENE Award Winners 2009–2024

Read about the winners of the GENE Award winners from 2009–2024

Since 2011 the GENE Awards (short for Globally Engaging Networking Event Awards) have been acknowledging and celebrating the individuals and organisations who have significantly impacted the life sciences sector.

The list of people and organisations who’ve been recognised in the GENE Awards over the past 15 years is impressive.

The awards have grown to six categories that now celebrate impact across the life sciences, giving invaluable recognition for both individuals and their institutions from the media, business leaders, investors, and the broader community.

Life SciencesQueensland invites those creating impact in the sector to nominate for this year’s awards and add their name to the honour roll below.

Nominations close at midnight on Sunday 30 June 2024, so be quick. More details and entries at www.lsq.com.au/gene-awards-2024

Many thanks to sponsors of the 2024 awards: McCullough Robertson, QIMR Berghofer, Cytiva, KE Select, Stockwell and Merck Life Sciences.

McCullough Robertson Industry Excellence Award

2023 – Associate Professor Mark Smythe, The University of Queensland

2022 – Professor John Fraser, De Motu Cordis

2021 – Dr Patrick Silvey, Venture Pro

2020 – Professor Derek Richard, QUT

2019– Gabrielle McKee and Russell Neal, Clinical Network Services (CNS)

2018 – Professor Vicky Avery, Griffith University

2017 – Professor Frank Gannon, QIMR Berghofer

2016 – Professor Sagadevan Mundree, QUT

2015 – Dr Dimity Dornan AO, Hear and Say

2014 – Emeritus Professor Ian Wronski AO, James Cook University

2013 – Professor Ron Quinn, Griffith University

2012 – Emeritus Professor Maree Smith, The University of Queensland, and Dr Jim Aylward, Oncolin

2011 – Professor Zee Upton, QUT

2010– Dr Peter Riddles, ViciBio

2009 – Tony Webber, Clinical Network Services (CNS)


The Rose-Anne Kelso Commemorative Award, sponsored by Stockwell

2023 – Dr Sonia Shah, IMB, The University of Queensland 

2022 – Dr Sally Mortlock, The University of Queensland 

2021 – Dr Fleur Garton, The University of Queensland 

2020 – DrJoana Revez, The University of Queensland 

2019 – Dr Priyakshi Kalita-de Croft, The University of Queensland 

2018 – Dr Shyuan Ngo, The University of Queensland

2017 – Professor Mia Woodruff, QUT

2016 – Dr Joanne Macdonald, University of the Sunshine Coast

2015 – Leah Hobbs, The University of Queensland


The QIMR Berghofer Women of Influence Award

2023 – Professor Sabina Knight, James Cook University

2022 – Professor Kate Schroder, The Institute of Molecular Bioscience, The University of Queensland

2021 – Colleen Nelson QUT; Highly Commended: Neena Mitter, The University of Queensland

2020 –Distinguished Professor Lyn Griffiths QUT

2019 – Professor Katherine Andrews, Griffith University

2018 – Dr Suzanne Elliott, Gallipoli Medical Research


The Merck Rural and Regional Service Award

2023 – Professor Gavin Ash, University of Southern Queensland

2022 – Dr Keane Wheeler, The University of Queensland

2021 – Professor Neena Mitter, The University of Queensland; Highly Commended: Dr Kelly McGrath, Wesley Medical Research


Radium Capital Emerging Innovator Award (KESelect Emerging Innovator Award in 2024)

2023 – Vicebio


Silverstone Developments Company of the YearAward  (Cytiva Company of the Year Awardin 2024)

2023 – Vaxxas

2022 – Microba Life Sciences

Get great insight from our expert team.
By signing up you agree to our Terms & Conditions